Solar · For traders
Does a solar PV or battery install need an EIC or a Minor Works certificate?
Short answer
Adding an inverter or battery normally means a new circuit from the consumer unit, which needs an Electrical Installation Certificate and, in England, Part P notification. A Minor Electrical Installation Works Certificate only fits alterations that add no new circuit, and even an FCU connection on an existing circuit needs BS 7671 551.7 design checks.
Last checked 24 September 2026 · 1 source
In more detail
- Building Regulations 2010 reg 12(6A): new circuit, consumer-unit replacement or special-location work is notifiable (England).
- Self-certify via a Competent Person Scheme or notify building control; MIS 3002 cl.5.1.6-5.1.7 requires notification before handover where the contractor is responsible.
- MIS 3012 cl.4.1.3: verify loop impedance and PFC in all operating modes (charging tests with inverters disconnected).
- Certificate form choice (EIC vs MEIWC) is a BS 7671 Part 6 matter - not re-verified this session.
The facts, dated
- 01Installing a new circuit in a dwelling is notifiable building work — reg 12(6A)(a)
regulation · England · checked 24 September 2026 · legislation.gov.uk
What we saw in the field
[QA review 2026-09-24] P-10 ADDS; certificate type not stated. | Earlier notes: Field evidence (Jackery hardwired via switched FCU on an extended ring) is consistent with electrician-certified work; certificate type used was not stated.
Sources
- legislation.gov.uk — www.legislation.gov.uk/uksi/2010/2214/regulation/12
Last checked: 24 September 2026